Subaru EyeSight

Automotive technology is always evolving, tweaked to make everyday driving a pleasant, convenient, and safe experience. In recent time, safety features have grown in number and sophistication, doing its part in preventing or mitigating collisions. Subaru aroused the automotive world when it announced that it will debut its suite of driver-assist technologies to the United States for the 2013 model year. This suite, which is known as EyeSight®, is anchored by dual color cameras, which are located near the rearview mirror and scan the road of any danger that cannot be easily anticipated by the driver. As a result, you can keep a safe distance between you and the driver in front of you (adaptive cruise control), stay in your lane (lane keep assist and sway warning), avoid or reduce the occurrence of frontal crashes with full braking force (pre-collision braking), and even have your engine power reduced to minimize impact force and consequent damage (pre-collision throttle management).

These are technologies that are traditionally standard from premium or luxury brands. Subaru, however, is one of the few exceptions. Indeed, as of now, EyeSight® is offered on select trims from six of its vehicles, which are the following:

  • Legacy
    Currently Subaru’s midsize car, the Legacy was one of the two first vehicles from the automaker that received the EyeSight® technology in the United States. Although it is not standard on any of its trims, you can add it on any one above the base-level model (i.e., Premium, Sport, and Limited).
  • Outback
    The Outback, which is really the wagon variant of the Legacy, was the other vehicle that first received EyeSight® in 2013. The suite is standard on just the top-level Touring; you can add it on the trims directly above the base-level model (i.e., Premium and Limited).
  • Impreza
    On the smallest vehicle in the Subaru line-up, EyeSight® is optional on the Premium, Sport, and Limited trims: be it a four-door sedan or a five-door hatchback. It is unavailable, however, on the base-level trim.
  • Crosstrek
    The Crosstrek, which is the off-road version of the Impreza, blends design cues from the SUV and hatchback body styles to turn out as a uniquely shaped vehicle. It is available as a base-level model, a Premium trim, and a Limited trim, with EyeSight® optional on the last two.
  • WRX
    The high-performance variant of the Subaru Impreza, the WRX is split into five trim configurations. Of these, only the mid-tiered one—the Limited—can have EyeSight® added on it; the suite is unavailable for the others.
  • Forester
    Functioning as Subaru’s compact crossover SUV, the Forester is similar to the Outback. EyeSight® is standard on the top-of-the-line Touring and optional on the Premium and Limited. Notably, the Outback and the Forester are the only Subaru vehicles that have the driver-assist technology suite standard on at least one trim.

Can’t wait to try out for yourself how EyeSight works on the aforementioned Subaru vehicles? Call us and schedule a test drive of any EyeSight-enabled vehicle of your choice, and one of our Subaru experts will be more than happy and able to guide you throughout the process.

Categories: Technology

Subscribe to Our Blog